Toby got bronze medal

Two Young Lions to represent UAE at the 2009 Cannes Lions International Advertising Festival

At a ceremony at Dubai Media City, the official Cannes Advertising Festival representative announced the winners of the seventh 2009 UAE Young Lions creative competition on Wednesday, May 13 night.

Executive Director of Dubai Media City, Mr Mohammad Abdulla and Ian Fairservice, Managing Partner of the Motivate Group, representing Cannes Lions, presented the awards.

Mohammad Abdullah welcomed and congratulated those participating and judging the competition. Ian Fairservice said,” We are proud of the high quality of work presented by UAE’s young creative professionals from the advertising industry. This is the seventh year we have hosted the event and it gets better every year. This is reflected by the superb work created at the Young Lions competition.”

Seventeen teams from the UAE competed, each consisting of a Copywriter and Art Director both 28 years old or below. Whilst three winners were announced, all the contestants pinned their hopes on the top award of representing the UAE in the International Young Lions Competition at the Cannes Lions International Advertising Festival in the south of France this June. The Cannes Festival continues to be the largest gathering of worldwide advertising and marketing professionals, and the industry’s most prestigious awards event.

The teams had 9 hours to produce work of global quality standards based on a brief from Make-A-Wish Foundation UAE. The mandate was to produce an A3 print ad/poster to generate public awareness on the Foundation’s activities and objectives in the UAE.

The winning teams were as follows:

GOLD: Bilal Kerbaj and Mohamed Sami Ali from Fortune Promoseven Abu Dhabi were the front runners, scooping the Gold award, and will proudly represent the UAE at the Cannes Competition in June.

SILVER: Timsy Vadhani and Omar Bitar from Euro RSCG Promopub claimed the Silver prize.

BRONZE: Carlos Khoury and Toby Charles Gomez from AGA Dubai were awarded the Bronze.